Trial Lawyers Care Week: Pro Bono Opportunities Abound

Trial Lawyers Care Week is a great opportunity to consider donating some of your time to worthy causes on a pro bono basis. Organizations in virtually every corner of our state need volunteer lawyers to help those in need.

Here is a lengthy list of organizations looking for volunteer attorneys. Consider where you live and work, where your skills might best match up, and consider reaching out to one or more of these organizations soon. It’s a great chance to make a difference.

 

Benton

Benton-Franklin Legal Aid Society
Barb Otte
509-734-9840
bflegalaid2@ymail.com
7103 W. Clearwater Ave., Suite C
Kennewick, WA  99336

Chelan

Chelan-Douglas County Volunteer Attorney Services
Eloise Barshes
509-663-2778
edvas@nwi.net
300 Okanogan Ave., Suite 3B
Wenatchee, WA  98801-6940

Clallam

Clallam-Jefferson County Pro Bono Lawyers
Shauna Rogers
360-504-2422
probonolawyers@gmail.com
228 W. First St., Suite N
Port Angeles, WA  98362

Clark

Clark County Volunteer Lawyers Program
Elizabeth Fitzgearld
360-823-0423
elizabethf@ccvlp.org
1104 Main Street, Suite 1
Vancouver, WA  98660

Cowlitz

Cowlitz Wahkiakum Legal Aid
Lori Bashor-Sarancik
360-425-2579
cwlap@live.com
1338 Commerce Ave., Suite C
Longview, WA  98632

Douglas

Chelan-Douglas County Volunteer Attorney Services
Eloise Barshes
509-663-2778
edvas@nwi.net
300 Okanogan Ave., Suite 3B
Wenatchee, WA  98801-6940

Franklin

Benton-Franklin Legal Aid Society
Barb Otte
509-734-9840
bflegalaid2@ymail.com
418 W. Clearwater Ave., Suite C
Kennewick, WA  99336

Island

LAW Advocates
Michael Heatherly
360-671-6079
michaelh@lawadvocates.org
P.O. Box 937
Bellingham, WA 98227

Jefferson

Clallam-Jefferson County Pro Bono Lawyers
Shauna Rogers
360-504-2422
probonolawyers@gmail.com
228 W. First St., Suite N
Port Angeles, WA  98362

King

Center for Children & Youth Justice, Lawyers Fostering Independence
Laurel Simonsen
lsimonsen@ccyj.org
206-696-7503, ext. 24
615 Second Ave., Suite 275
Seattle, WA  98104

Eastside Legal Assistance Program
Cynthia Klein
cynthia@elap.org
425-747-7274, ext. 205
P.O. Box 286
Bellevue, WA 98007

Entre Hermanos
206-322-7700
info@entrehermanos.org
1105 23rd Ave.
Seattle, WA 98122

Family Law CASA
206-748-9700
admin@familylawcasa.org
810 Third Ave., Suite 700
Seattle, WA 98104

International Refugee Assistance Project – Seattle University Law School Chapter
206-398-4000 
901 12th Ave.
P.O. Box 222000
Seattle, WA 98122-1090

KIND – Kids in Need of Defense
Juliann Bildhauer
206-359-6200
Juliann@supportkind.org
1201 Third Ave., Suite 4800
Seattle, WA  98101-3266

King County Bar Association, Pro Bono Services
Anne Daly
206-267-7100, ext. 7018
anned@kcba.org
1200 Fifth Ave., Suite 700
Seattle, WA  98101-1188

Latina/Latino Bar Association of Washington
clinics@lbaw.org

Lavender Rights Project
Morgan Mentzer
206-639-7955
info@lavenderrightsproject.org
2425 Sixth Ave. S.
Seattle, WA 98134

Native American Law Center/Tribal Court Public Defense Clinic
Molly Cohan
206-616-4201
mmcohan@uw.edu
William H. Gates Hall, Suite 265
P.O. Box 85110
Seattle, WA 98145

Northwest Advocacy Foundation
206-923-8379
info@northwestadvocacy.org
110 Prefontaine Place S., Suite 206
Seattle, WA 98104

Northwest Immigrant Rights Project
Jordan Wasserman: 206.957.8632
probono@nwirp.org
615 2nd Ave, Suite 400
Seattle, WA 98104

OneAmerica
206-452-8408, ext.209
volunteer@weareoneamerica.org
1225 S. Weller St., Suite 430
Seattle, WA 98144

Open Door Legal Services
David Mace
206-682-4642
dmace@ugm.org
P.O. Box 14165
Seattle, WA  98114-0165

Public Defender Association
Julia Jacobs
206-392-0050, ext. 750
julia.jacobs@defender.org
810 Third Ave., Suite 705
Seattle, WA 98104

Seattle Clemency Project
Jennifer Smith 
206-276-6026
jennifer@seattleclemencyproject.org
1126 34th Ave., Suite 208
Seattle, WA 98122

Seattle Community Law Center
Alex Doolittle
206-686-7252, ext. 2
alex@seattlecommlaw.org
1404 E. Yesler Way, Suite 203
Seattle, WA 98122-5579

Seattle University School of Law Peterson Law Clinic
Paul Michael Holland
206-398-4130
1112 E. Columbia St.
Seattle, WA  98122-4458

Solid Ground, Benefits Legal Assistance
Sara Robbins
sarar@solid-ground.org
206-694-6741
1501 N. 45th St.
Seattle, WA  98103-6708

Tenant Law Center
Mark Chattin
206-328-5943
markrc@ccsww.org
100 23rd Ave. S.
Seattle, WA  98144-2302

University of Washington School of Law Federal Tax Clinic
John Clynch
206-685-6805
litc@uw.edu
P.O. Box 85110
Seattle, WA  98145-1110

Wayfind
Jodi Nishioka
866-288-9695
contact@wayfindlegal.org
P.O. Box 2134
Seattle, WA 98111

YWCA Sexual Violence Legal Service
Riddhi Mukhopadhyay
206-832-3632
riddhim@ywcaworks.org
2024 Third Ave.
Seattle, WA 98121

Kitsap

Kitsap Legal Services
Philip Wade, Executive Director
360-373-0086
Volunteer@KitsapLegalServices.org
920 Park Ave.
P.O. Box 1446
Bremerton, WA  98337

Kitsap Immigrant Assistance Center
Sally Tellekson, Exec. Director
sally@kitsapiac.org

360-616-2722

Pierce

Carly A. Roberts, J.D.
Assistant Director of Legal Programs
TACOMAPROBONO
621 Tacoma Ave South, Ste. 303
Tacoma, WA 98402
www.tacomaprobono.org
Tel: (253) 572-5134

Tacoma-Pierce County Bar Association Volunteer Legal Services Program
Laurie Davenport
253-572-5134
vls@tacomaprobono.org
621 Tacoma Ave. S., Suite 303
Tacoma, WA  98402-2330

Skagit County

Skagit County Volunteer Lawyer Program
Maren Anderson
360-416-7585
marena@communityactionskagit.org
330 Pacific Place
P.O. Box 1507
Mount Vernon, WA  98273-1507

Snohomish

Snohomish County Legal Services
Chris Graves
425-258-9283
chrisg@snocolegal.org 
P.O. Box 5675
Everett, WA  98206-5675

Spokane

Center For Justice
Dainen Penta
dpenta@cforjustice.org 
35 W. Main Ave.
Spokane, WA  99201-0109

Federal Tax Clinic, University Legal Assistance
Jennifer A. Gellner, LL.M
509-313-5791
P.O. Box 3528
Spokane, WA  99220-3528

Spokane County Bar Association  Volunteer Lawyers Program
Kristina Ralls
509-443-3457
kristina@spokanebar.org 
1704 W. Broadway Ave.
Spokane, WA  99201-1818

YWCA Alternatives to Domestic Violence
Ashley Ceresa
ashleyc@ywcaspokane.org 
30 N. Monroe St. 
Spokane, WA  99201

Thurston

Thurston County Volunteer Legal Services
Rachael Langen Lundmark
360-705-8194
director@tcvls.org
P.O. Box 405
Olympia, WA  98507-0405

Walla Walla

Blue Mountain Action Council Volunteer Attorney Program
Veaney Martinez
509-529-4980, ext. 126
veaneym@bmacww.org
1520 Kelly Place, Suite 140
Walla Walla, WA  99363

Whatcom

LAW Advocates
Michael Heatherly
360-671-6079
michaelh@lawadvocates.org
P.O. Box 937
Bellingham, WA  98227-0937

Yakima

Yakima County Volunteer Attorney Services
Quinn Dalan
yakimavas@yakimavas.org
509-453-4400
818 W. Yakima Ave.
Yakima, WA  98902

Multicounty

Columbia Legal Services
Merf Ehman
206-464-1122
merf.ehman@ColumbiaLegal.org
101 Yesler Way, Suite 300
Seattle, WA  98104-2528

Dependency CASA Program
Janet Harris
206-205-9701
BEaCASA@kingcounty.gov
1401 E. Jefferson St., Suite 500
Seattle, WA  98122-5574

Disability Rights Washington
206-324-1521
info@dr-wa.org 
315 Fifth Ave. S., Suite 850
Seattle, WA 98104

Innocence Project Northwest Clinic
Kate Huber
206-616-8008
krhuber@uw.edu
P.O. Box 85110
Seattle, WA 98145-1110

International Families Justice Coalition
John Higa
206-849-6885
john@ifjc-us.org
1001 Fourth Ave., Suite 4400
Seattle, WA 98154

KIND – Kids in Need of Defense
Juliann Bildhauer
206-359-6200
Juliann@supportkind.org
1201 Third Ave., suite 4800
Seattle, WA  98101-3266

Latina/Latino Bar Association of Washington
clinics@lbaw.org

Northwest Consumer Law Center
Amanda Martin
206-805-0989
admin@nwclc.org
214 E. Galer St., Suite 100
Seattle, WA 98102

Northwest Health Law Advocates
Janet Varon
206-325-6464, ext. 13
janet@nohla.org
4759 15th Ave. NE, suite 305
Seattle, WA 98105

Northwest Immigrant Rights Project
Jordan Wasserman
206-957-8632
jordan@nwirp.org
615 Second Ave., suite 400
Seattle, WA 98104

Northwest Justice Project
https://nwjustice.org/volunteer-opportunities-0